Marinas Classification Program

Created in 2006, the Marinas classification program fits into the Quebec Marine Association mission and aims to revitalize the marina network. The program is geared towards the quality of infrastructures and the array of services offered to boaters in the context of sustainable navigation.

In order to create this classification program, the association made multiple researches and put together a first report that was given to a comity of experts in marina management.  Then, to ensure the relevance and reliability of the program, thus preserving its integrity, the QMA chose to outsource an external partner who is objective and impartial, whose expertise in renowned for this type of operation and who the concerned parties can trust. They reached out to the Corporation de l’industrie touristique du Québec (CITQ), already in charge of managing similar programs in various sectors of accommodations for the government of Quebec. They were given the task of reviewing their standard document while consulting with experts coming from marinas, and once adapted, managing the program created in 2006.

The program is on a voluntary basis and an incentive to motivate marinas to maintain a high-quality standard of service offered to the benefit of boaters. This way, marinas have an objective and trustworthy tool on hand to help them make decisions about the marina, as port of call or as home port. From a larger perspective, it also helps stimulate nautical tourism in Quebec, whose contribution to the economic development is not to be ignored.

The Marinas Classification Program is an objective reference for the array and quality of services offered by each marina. They are rated on a scale of 0 to 5 golden anchors, representing high standards of quality.

More than fifty marinas have been certified since the beginning of the program.

Consult the list of classified marinas

Consult the reference document (French only)

CLASSIFICATION DES MARINAS

Mis en place en 2006, le programme de Classification des marinas s’inscrit dans la mission de l'Association Maritime du Québec et vise à assurer une revitalisation du réseau des marinas. Le programme est axé sur la qualité des infrastructures et l’éventail des services offerts aux plaisanciers dans le contexte d'une navigation durable.

Pour élaborer le programme de Classification, l’Association a d’abord effectué des recherches qui ont mené à un premier rapport qui a été soumis à un comité d’experts en gestion de marinas. Ensuite, afin d’assurer la pertinence du contenu et la fiabilité du programme et ainsi préserver l’intégrité de la démarche, l’AMQ a pris la décision d’impliquer une ressource externe, objective et impartiale dont l’expertise reconnue dans ce type d’opération afin de favoriser la confiance des intervenants concernés. Elle a donc confié à la Corporation de l’industrie touristique du Québec (CITQ), déjà mandataire du gouvernement du Québec pour la gestion de programmes similaires dans divers secteurs de l’hébergement, le mandat de réviser son document de base en étroite consultation avec des experts en provenance des marinas et, une fois adopté, de gérer le programme retenu qui a été lancé en 2006.

Le programme est une démarche incitative et volontaire visant à stimuler les marinas à maintenir des standards élevés de qualité de service au profit des plaisanciers, qui ont ainsi en main un outil objectif et fiable dans leur choix de marinas, comme lieux d'escale ou comme ports d'attache. Dans une perspective plus large, il sert également à stimuler le tourisme nautique au Québec, une contribution non négligeable au développement économique.

Le programme de Classification des marinas est une référence objective de l'éventail et de la qualité des services offerts par chaque marina. La certification décernée est graduée de 0 à 5 ancres d'or qui représentent des standards de qualité élevés.

Plus d’une cinquantaine de marinas ont été classifiées depuis la mise en place du programme.

Consulter la liste des marinas classifiées

Consulter le document de référence